Skip to content

From Cedar Mesa: a Writer’s Credo

October 27, 2010

“Some people write to please, to soothe, to console. Others to provoke, to challenge, to exasperate and infuriate. I’ve always found the second approach more pleasing.”     

Edward Abbey (1927-1989) author of Desert Solitaire, The Monkey Wrench Gang,  a collection  o f essays titled  One Life at a Time, Please, and many, many other stimulating, evocative, thoughtful, exasperating, annoying, and provocative works.

I am no Edward Abbey, but I take inspiration from Cactus Ed’s premise and that’s why this blog  is called  The Edge of Cedar Mesa. I intend some entries to be “edgy”, provocative, infuriating, dissident, challenging. annoying. I live in a small town in rural Western Colorado,   an area of great natural beauty but also a  rather  socially confining environment that tires me with its endless appetite for nostalgia, conformity, sentimental fantasy, and apparently bottomless need for emotional reassurance–reassurance that the world (or at least America) is just the same as they imagined years ago, as children.  Disneyland America. The America of Mayberry RFD  of the Andy Hardy movies.

There are two Cedar Mesas I am involved with, or that are intertwined with my psyche and my  life.  I live on the top of one; the other is like a magnet I have been drawn to for the past 25 years and have spent countless days exploring, hiking, camping, backpacking, experiencing. they are like two geographical poles in my life, or like electrical poles that together form a circuit through  my mind and body, energizing me.

Where is all this leading?  God, I dunno.  It should go without saying that this blog is an evolving work in progress. It may include everything and anything  educational, opinionated, insightful, or inflammatory.

I hope it irks you, irritates you, annoys and provokes you,a s well as amuses you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

